Portrait Light Techniques

Split Light Technique
Butterfly Lighting Technique
Loop Lighting Technique in Black & White
Rembrandt Lighting Technique

 

My favorite photo that I took was the Rembrandt lighting technique. The student, Luke, was listening to tips on how to get better lighting when I took the shot. This was my favorite because it was in the moment, rather than having the model get ready for the photo. This also captured Rembrandt perfectly and the lighting in the photo makes it interesting to look at.

 

the split lighting technique is definitely one that I would use in a photo. It would be interesting to have two different colors on both sides of the models face to convey their mixed emotions. I also feel like it is easy to come up with an idea using the split lighting technique.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *